Famous folks from Enid

Leona Mitchell, Grammy Award-winning opera singer, has performed with each of the Three Tenors and in most of the world’s greatest opera houses.

Don Haskins, Hall of Fame basketball coach featured in movie Glory Road.

Owen K. Garriott, astronaut, co-founder of Leonardo’s Children’s Museum.

Bob Klemme, Chisholm Trail historian who marked each section line of the Oklahoma portion of the Chisholm Trail with a concrete marker in the 1990s.

Kyle Dillingham, fiddler who has played in more than 30 countries on every continent, named Oklahoma's Musical Ambassador.

Todd Lamb, former Oklahoma Lieutenant Governor.

Oral Roberts, evangelist who founded Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Okla., started his ministry in Enid after attending classes for two years at Phillips University.

H.H. Champlin, founder of Champlin Oil and owner of Enid's First National Bank (now Wymer Brownlee at the corner of Randolph & Grand), the only bank in United States history to have been closed by the military.

Michael Hedges, guitarist, named one of the “25 Guitarists Who Rocked the World” by Guitar Magazine.

H Holden, cowboy artist – his sculpture Boomer was featured on the 1993 U.S. postage stamp commemorating the 100-year anniversary of the Land Run.

Mark Price, NBA guard (Cleveland, Washington, Golden State, Orlando), won Olympic Gold Medal as part of Dream Team II in 1994. Older brother of Brent Price. 

Brent Price, NBA guard (Washington, Houston, Vancouver, Sacramento). Younger brother of Mark Price.

Thad Luckinbill, twin brother of Trent, actor & producer known for his role as J.T. Hellstrom on The Young and the Restless and executive producer of the 2016 hit movie La La Land, which won 6 Oscars and 7 Golden Globe Awards.

Trent Luckinbill, twin brother of Thad, executive producer of the 2016 hit movie La La Land, which won 6 Oscars and 7 Golden Globe Awards.

Stacy Prammanasudh, two-time winner on the LPGA Tour.

Louisa McCune-Elmore, former editor-in-chief for Oklahoma Today magazine.

Brad Richter, founded Lead Guitar, a program to teach guitar to middle and high school students.

Richard Taylor, dean of the College of Fine Arts at OU and former VP of entertainment and costuming for Disney.

Marquis James, two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author (1930, 1938).

Stephen Jones, attorney, represented Timothy McVeigh after OKC Bombing.

Clyde Cessna, founder of Cessna Aircraft Co.

Lt. Col. Leon Vance, Medal of Honor recipient, Vance AFB is named after Col. Vance.

Mike Klemme, international photographer who was the official photographer of the Oklahoma Centennial.

Sam Boyd, founder of Boyd Gaming Corp., owned a share of the Sahara Hotel and The Mint in Las Vegas. Sam's Town & Casino in downtown Las Vegas is named after Boyd.

Sam Rivers, influential and prominent jazz musician in the 1950s and 60s.

Glenda Farrell, one of Warner Brothers' most prolific actresses in the 1930s and 40s. Has a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Richard Erdmann, actor best known for roles in Tora Tora Tora and Stalag 17. He also played Leonard Rodriguez on the NBC comedy Community.

Mark Marshall, movie producer who worked under Steven Spielberg on classics such as Star Wars, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, and Back to the Future.

Lynn Herring, actress best known for her role as Lucy Coe on General Hospital.

Steve Owen, Pro Football Hall of Fame coach of the New York Giants from 1931-1953, born in Cleo Springs and attended Enid's Phillips University.

Jimmy O'Neill, DJ who served as host of the ABC nationally-syndicated television show Shindig from 1964-66.

Jon Franklin, two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning science writer for the Baltimore Sun.

Jordan Baker, Major League umpire since 2014.

Sherman Billingsley, Nightclub owner and former bootlegger who was the founder and owner of New York's prestigious Stork Club.

Dr. Bruce Shields, Professor Emeritus of Ophthalmology and Visual Science; Chairman Emeritus at Yale University.

Bud Browning, coach of the 1948 Summer Olympics gold medal-winning USA basketball team, member of the Helms Amateur Basketball Hall of Fame.

Enid residents in the Oklahoma Hall of Fame, with year of induction

Paul Allen, Advance Foods, 2018
Dan Dillingham, Insurance, 2016
H Holden, Cowboy Artist, 2014
John Groendyke, Transportation, 2013
Harold Hamm, American Wildcatter, 2011
Lew Ward, Oilman, 2010
Leona Mitchell, Opera Singer, 2004
Nancy Frantz Davies, Civic Leader, 1986
Vida Chenoweth, Ethnomusicology, 1985
Owen K Garriott, Astronaut, 1980
Christine Holland Anthony, Civic Leader, 1979
John M Young, Public Servant, 1971
H.B. (Heinie) Bass, Business Executive, 1967
Bess B Truitt, Poet Laureate, 1959
Anna T Scruggs, Mental Health, 1957
Eugene S Briggs, Education, 1951
Mattie O. Watts Kimes, Artist, 1948
Daniel L Edwards, Religious Leader, 1947
Milton C Garber, Congressman, 1940
Isaac McCash, Educator, 1939
George Rainey, Educator, 1938

Enid Walk of Fame Recipients
(not awarded each year)

2021: Kyle Williams, Walter Scheffe
2020: Clayton Nolen, Oscar Curtis
2019: Owen K Garriott, Bill Shewey
2018: Don Haskins, Leona Mitchell, Brud Baker
2017: Mary Feightner, Willa Jo Fowler, H Holden
2016: John Groendyke, Margaret Buvinger
2015: Col. Leon Vance, Otwa Tilden Autry, Dr. Bill Simon
2014: Gary Atwood, Richard McKnight, Bill Vickers
2013: Larry McClure, Lew Meibergen, Lew Ward
2012: Dan Dillingham, Dr. Jim Strate, Charles J West
2010: Ray Schoonover
2009: Bert Mackie, R.C. Parrish
2006: Bill Grimes, Frank (Watermelon) Campbell
2005: Dorice Allen, Mike Cooper
2001: Helen Garriott, Irv Honigsberg
2000: Orville Luckinbill, George Hronopulos, H.E. Cummins, Paul Allen
1999: Frank Frantz, Ethel Palacek, Bill Humphrey
1998: Bob Klemme, H.H. Champlin, Nancy Davies
1997: Kenneth Simpson, Bill Munn